Facebook / Orkut Rumormongering


There’s a rumor going around that the new Orkut-to-Facebook feature is what’s causing the latest facebook meltdown. I don’t konw if it’s true or not since I haven’t spoken to anyone about it or tried to verify with sources. But I have an article quota, plus I haven’t shown how smart I am in a while. What to do, what to do?

Oh yes! Pose it as an intelligent question:

Is this new import feature what’s causing the meltdown? And why aren’t facebook and google, two companies that have spent a lot of time making sure their sites scale well, able to handle this sudden traffic? If I were building a website and targeting India and Brazil, I’d have made it much more robust since most people (I don’t have research on this) have more than one on various social networks.

There. No need to be all reportery-like and offer data like the folks at gigaom: http://gigaom.com/2010/10/22/did-facebook-just-move-to-kill-off-orkut/

 

One Response to Facebook / Orkut Rumormongering

  1. […] mutual public masturbation. Older and stupider variants are dying out: myspace, ning, etc. Also see my post on […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

